Route and Spectating

We look forward to welcoming spectators during Mintex Rally Yorkshire. Firstly on the afternoon of Friday the 26th feel free to see the cars arriving at the Principal Hotel York. They will be lined up outside the magnificent hotel – for those of us who took part in RAC Rallies in the 1970s and 1980s it was then the Royal Station Hotel and the base for many rallies. Rally memorabilia will be available from the Hotel’s Events Centre where drivers will be signing on.

On Saturday morning the first car will leave the Hotel at 8.30a.m. and our first venue will be Harewood Hill Climb from around 9.15a.m. The cars will tackle the stage once and leave for Bowling Park in Bradford, where you will be able to see them from just after 10.00a.m. A short visit to a Passage Control at the National Media Museum in the centre of Bradford follows, before the cars return to Harewood at soon after 11.15a.m.

Lunch follows at Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, before the cars will start arriving at Bramham Park at about 1.45 p.m. From Bramham they will go to Church Fenton where they will be for most of the rest of the afternoon. Unfortunately entry to Church Fenton Airfield will be strictly controlled as we are only allowed limited numbers, tickets can be obtained in advance from Eventbrite at £30.00 each.

Following this the cars will return to the Principal Hotel in York from around 5.00p.m.

We look forward to seeing you over the weekend.

Spectator Stage

We will have an airfield venue available all afternoon on Saturday 27th April where you will be able to see the cars run on two different routes, with a stop in between when the crews will have a coffee and be available for a chat. The cars will arrive from around 2.30p.m. and will not finish their runs until around 5.00p.m.

There will be a cafe on site where food and drink will be available, plus an elevated viewing area where you will be able to see almost all of the stages. Experienced rally driver, Ford, Sunbeam and Vauxhall/Opel works driver, Russell Brookes, plus the well known author, former rally team manager and general motorsport guru, Graham Robson, will be on site to talk through the cars and drivers.

It will be a genuinely very special afternoon, with fantastic viewing of what will be exciting action. Entry will only be available by advance ticket. Don’t miss out.

Numbers will be strictly limited, you will have to arrive by 2.00p.m. There will be a charge of £30.00 per head, so if you are interested in being one of the small number who will be able to access the action – please email or purchase on Eventbrite

Entry List:

1. Warren Philliskirk/Garry Green Ford Escort Mk1
2. Billy Coleman/Terry Harryman Philliskirk Ford EScort Mk2
3. Nick Taylor/Ian Hulmston Toyota Celica ex-TTE/Waldegaard
4. Louise Aitken-Walker/Gina Walker Toyota
5. Andrew Cooper/Chris Watson Renault 5 Turbo Tour de Course
6. Christopher Steele/David Agnew Group 6 Hillman Imp
7. Tony Bromham/Ray Oates Group 6 Hillman Imp
8. Robin Eyre-Maunsell/Pat McCourt Toyota Celica
9. Cathal Curley/TBA Salzburg Volkswagen Beetle
10. Mick Strafford/Miles Cartwright Vauxhall Firenza Can-Am
11. Neil Brighton/Steve Newcomb Renault Maxi 5 Turbo
12. Geoff Simpson/Alan Simpson Alpine A110
13. Tony Hart/Graham Daws Group A Renault Clio
14. Mark Halstead/Phil Gunning Ford Escort RS1600
15. Stephen Radcliffe/TBA Porsche 911
16. Bill Dobie/Eve Dobie Ford Escort Mk2
17. Tim Green/Melanie Green Triumph TR7V8
18. Nicky Porter/Wendy Porter Mercedes 450SLC
19. Adam Keeler/TBA Rover SD1 ex-Russell Gooding
20. John Griffin/TBA Lancia Stratos
21. John Whalley/JJ Whalley Group N Lancia Delta Integrale
22. Roger Platt/Simon Cross Alpine A110
23. Peter Clarke/Peter Henri Clarke Group 1 Ford Escort RS2000
24. Bernard Simpson/TBA Group 1 Triumph Dolomite Sprint
25. Simon Powell/Yvonne Powell Opel Manta 400
26. Ben Jemison/Ian Jemison Vauxhall Chevette HSR
27. Mike Dodsworth/Roy Scargill Ex-Works Mini Cooper S
28. Gordon Scargill/David Scargill Mini Cooper
29. Duncan Buck/Cate Buck Porsche 911 3.0RS
30. Geoff Twigg/Jerry Hughes Alpine A110
31. Derek Smyth/Anne Smyth Mini Cooper “S”
32. Elkin Robinson/Christine Robinson Mini Cooper “S”
33. Geoff Maybank/ Toyota Levin
34. Richard North/Phil Hewitt Triumph TR7V8
35. Graham Tatham/Derek Brader BMW 3-Series
36. Tom Bradley/Graham Cofield Mini Clubman 1275GT Group 1
37. Paul Richards/John Lockyer Porsche 914/6
38. Simon Mallins/Mick Lebeter Vauxhall Firenza
39. Chris Naylor/Tim Tennant Datsun 240Z
40. Martyn Walby/Paul Willetts Ford Escort RS1800
41. John Pye/John Coxon Datsun 240Z
42. Neil Calvert/Arlene Calvert 250swb Tribute
43. Justin Benson/Rachael Benson 250swb Tribute
44. Simon Heighway/Dave Waring Hillman Avenger
45. Kevin Salter/Shirley Salter Fiat 131
46. Martin Adams/Simon Lindsay Hillman Hunter
47. Tim Simpson/TBA Sunbeam Ti
48. Seamus Brehony/TBA Ford Escort Mk2
49. Philip Ashworth/Tim Shapcott Volvo 142S
50. Josh Simpson/TBA Ford Escort Mk1
51. Paul Owens/Mick Lord Ford Escort RS1800 Roger Clark Cossack replica
52. Nigel Cay/E J Cay Ex-Pentti Arikkala Vauxhall Chevette HSR
54. Ian Clark/Mike Cowlam Saab 96
55. Mike Kirk/Malcolm Capstick Group 1 Ford Escort RS2000
56. Jim Partridge/Sue Partridge Stobart Mini
57. Andrew Storr/Lionel Firn Group 4 Talbot Sunbeam Lotus
58. Julian Cardew/Katie Cardew Mini 1275GT
59. Brandon James/Jo James Escort RS1800 Mk2
60. Grafton Beddoes/Colin Rowe-Jones Evo RS200 Replica
61. James Grayson/Simon Spinks Ex-Works World Cup Rally Ford Escort
62. Chris Pearson/Rob Faulkner Volvo 122S Amazon
63. Lisa Grayson/Andrea Spinks Ford Lotus Cortina Mk1
64. Andy Harrison/TBA BMC 1800 “Landcrab”
65. Jumping Jeff Williamson/John Forrest Hillman Avenger
66. David Till/Helen Till Ford Escort Mk1
67. Dave Hemingway/Jim Plevy Ford Escort Mk2
68. John Pinder/Dave Rowe Ford Fiesta
69. Scott Smith/TBA Escort RS1600
70. Chris Myers/ Ford Escort RS1800 Mk2
71. Dan Sykes/Ollie Bell Morris Mini
72. Stuart Anderson/Chris Thirling Porsche 944
73. Mike Kent/David Culley Sunbeam ti
74. Chris Rae/Terry May Toyota
75. James Whittaker/Peter Whittaker Lancia Delta HF Integrale
76. Barry Clark/Jenny Mortimore Triumph TR7
77. Rob Pilcher/Roger Burkill Ford RS200
78. Nigel Hepburn/David Nicholson Metro 6R4
79. Adam Marsden/TBA Audi Quattro
80. Tim Clarke/TBA Audi Quattro
81. Bob Dennis/ Subaru
82. Craig Pennington/Mick Pickles VW Polo Recreation
83. Yuk Hodgson/Alain Storey A big white van
90. John Midgely/John Pullan Toyota WRC

The Route

Great news on former Mintex Rally Stages that the event will visit. The route will start by going to Harewood House, before travelling into Bradford to recreate the Bowling Park special stage used in the 1980s. After Bowling Park we will stay in Bradford for two more locations – a short stop at City Park to allow spectators to see the cars, before going to Esholt. Two versions of the former stage at Esholt will be tackled, each side of a coffee stop at another iconic motoring venue.

After lunch the well known stage at Bramham Park will be visited for something quite special. Just like the photographs that appear on this website! After Bramham we will visit two fuurther, all tarmac stages, before returning to York in the evening. Great, great fun will be had by all!!